Seven Dollar Donuts

Being gluten-free has never been easy but I have learned to go without a lot of things other people eat. After three years I don’t really miss most of them. I am now faced with trying to make my son gluten/casein free and I really have no idea how my experiment will go.  But in our house, dad isn’t crazy about diets. I’m the health nut, he’s the “whatever will happen to me happens” person. Every time we go grocery shopping he asks me “why is your food so expensive?”  As in why are my waffles $3 a box when regular waffles are a $1.79? How come my bread is $4.99 a loaf and regular bread is $1.99?  I have gotten used to the odd looks and I am past justifying to anyone why I need these foods.

In the beginning I did need to be graphic to get him to understand that for me being gluten-free wasn’t some weight loss fad I chose. It was a necessity to keep me from feeling so sick.  People always act like I chose to be allergic to gluten. Believe me, no one chooses to have stomach pain so bad you feel like you ate glass. One day while perusing the giant gf section at our local store I saw doughnuts. I hadn’t had a doughnut in forever and not since I went gluten-free. Why? Because gluten-free doughnuts are almost $7 for a box.  I can’t bring myself to justify that expense for something that really isn’t nutritious anyway. But hubby always asks me “Why do they charge so much for doughnuts?”.

I realize now exactly why.

Today I dug out my trusty ADHD and Autism Cookbook to look for some new recipes.  I am trying to demonstrate to my son that being gf doesn’t suck as much as he thinks it will. So we went through the book today and looked at recipes to see what might appeal to him.

My son is an avid doughnut lover. Although almost never had them, he would eat them everyday, if his “mean old health nut mom” would let him. (that’s me..and I won’t…lol)

So in our exploration of the book he chose the only recipe he thought was good. Doughnuts. Gluten free, casein free, soy free doughnuts. I had forgotten until I was covered in dough that I did try to make these three years ago. And it did was NOT fun.

© 2012 The Edge of Autism

But in order not to discourage him we went to the store and bought the remaining ingredients we didn’t have. And the process began.

We mixed and followed the measurements and instructions exactly. But somehow I ended up with a dough that was too wet to “roll into strips” as the instructions said. Even my son was looking at the mush on my hands asking “how is that going to be a doughnut?”.

Yeah good questions I thought. I added more rice flour until it did become dough and I could roll it into doughnuts and fry them. I hated to use my coveted olive oil for this because it’s so expensive but we didn’t have anything else. We managed some oddly shaped mutant doughnuts.  My sensory tactile kid actually offered to flour up his hands and try forming doughnuts. I was shocked but then again he is on a round and anything good can happen then. But after forming these and putting them in the frying pan I looked like Pillsbury dough lady and there was rice flour every where. For some reason most gluten-free batters don’t like to come out of the glass bowls either. Super mess for sure.

My doughnuts are “rising” in the oven or so it says they should be. Then we bake them and glaze them. This is after I had to fry them.

But boy I know exactly why they charge $7 for a box of gluten-free doughnuts!! And if hubby asks next time we are the store, I am going to tell him.

One thought on “Seven Dollar Donuts

  1. Pingback: The Gluten Experiment | The Edge of Autism

Leave a Reply

