Thanksgiving, what kind of feast is this?

We stayed home this year. My son was excited about this “famed feast”. He jabbered for days about it. Informed me he was not eating any “pie”, especially not pumpkin. He wanted to help cook that day, but it was so hectic in the kitchen. He got to make the corn bread. He helped make the pie crusts. He was excited about the table-cloth and the prospect of the candles being lit. A “real fancy” dinner, he said.

I hurried about, cooking this, peeling that, adding this and adding that. I finally got the sweat potatoes on the table, the piping hot corn, squash, mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravy, turkey and the corn bread. Everything homemade, all natural or organic. We sat down with the candles lit and called my son to sit for dinner. He came running in “its feast time!” As soon as he saw all the dishes on the table…I saw the gears in his mind working.

We all sat down ready to say grace, and he sat in his chair not looking so happy. I waited, I knew it was coming. You always wait for the shoe of rejection to drop when you have a sensory kid. He looked at all the food on the table, glancing quickly from dish to dish as his face became darker. He glowered at the food and then…there it was….his declaration.: “This is not a real feast! I don’t like any of these foods! What kind of feast is this?”

Oh bother, I knew he was going to react that way. Even though we had spent days talking about the foods we have for Thanksgiving and why. I tried to sound positive and encouraging. “Look honey, we have corn, you like corn with sea salt and butter”. He scowled at me and said: “I want cake!” I said ” how about corn bread, you like that?” More scowling. I put a bit of turkey, a scoop of corn and some bread on his plate. He then asked what he could have for dinner. I sigh.

All that cooking, I should have known better. He always reacts this way.

He decided that he’d like mozzarella sticks for dinner. So we added that to his plate. His sister reminded him that she had made him a special chocolate cake for after dinner. He smiled, and ate his cheese. He did try the corn only to protest that it did not taste like how I “usually” make it. Even though, it was exactly how I usually make it. He licked the corn bread and said “this is not sweet like a muffin at all!” and refused to touch that.

Chocolate-Cake-2006-Jan-04

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The rest of us ate and after dinner we had homemade whip cream, yes from REAL cream made with the mixer and pumpkin pie. He helped mix the cream, he liked to do that, but he would never eat any. I did not have the luxury of buying a frozen ready-made pie with cool whip (too many chemicals). So we did it the way the pilgrims did.

Part of living biomed includes a diet free of chemicals. Although on days like that, I wonder why, when half the time he does not eat it anyway. But I know it’s better for our health. Tastes better too! My son had his organic chocolate cake. He was happy to have our family game night. But as far as he was concerned Thanksgiving was not a feast by his standards. Since there was nothing he could eat.

Someday, one of these days, maybe….he will eat like the rest of us. Or maybe not.
The day turned out well, he survived dinner. Honestly, most meals go like this. He rejects most of the foods. It has gotten easier over the years. He eats more of a variety than he used too.

Next year, I think we’ll just have mozzarella sticks and chocolate cake! Turkey is really a formality anyway. The true reason is to celebrate what we are thankful for. We did that. We are thankful. Thankful he is doing so well. Far better than I ever thought.

Later that evening we were watching Charlie Brown’s Thanksgiving, and as we watched Peanuts set up the feast…we all laughed, knowing that would be more like what my son wanted.

Another holiday survived…another one on the way.

Leave a Reply

