And we’re back on track….

We began round 111 today. All is going well. The past few rounds have gone smoothly. My son usually asks to do rounds. He says he feels great on them. He functions so much better on rounds with improved mood, focus and reduction in sensory symptoms.

We have been doing vision therapy for visual motor delays, ocular motor delays, etc. This therapy has worked pretty quickly at eliminating symptoms of Irlen’s syndrome.

Asymmetrical tonic neck reflex

Asymmetrical tonic neck reflex (Photo credit: JasonUnbound)

My son actually gained reading levels in only 3 months doing just this therapy.

We’ve been very lucky to find a vision therapist who was also trained in primitive reflex integration. We are working on more primitive reflex integration and core skill strength. We met with his therapist who determined that one of his reflexes is still a problem. The TLR it’s called. He also had a few other primitive reflexes like the gallant when we started.

He worked with my son that day with some activities that helped him feel his body, and receive the signals from his muscles. This has been improving his balance. My son was also on round 110. Treating these reflexes also improve the visual motor delays.

I have seen my son go into therapy with a problem and have it resolved in one session. So things can change fast. Other times it can take a few weeks.

I think there are so many facets to healing our kids and we do have to address the delays or interruptions in development. Those skills may need to be taught since they were not gained in infancy.

When I began learning about primitive reflexes and sensory integration I was fascinated. I wondered why more people don’t know about this. It really makes sense. And to verify the theory I tested everyone in our house for these reflexes and only my son had them. It’s finally good to breathe a sigh of relief that we can relax  for now because things are progressing along again.

I thought this blog was helpful in describing primitive reflexes and what can happen if they don’t integrate in infancy.

Vision and Learning 

Leave a Reply

