On an upswing again, 116 rounds

We’ve done round 116 and it went without a hitch. Monday night I was putting laundry in my son’s dresser while dad was reading his bed time story. I had my arms really full and things were dropping while I was trying to open the drawer.

My son says “Dad, you need to help mom, her arms are full and you need to take some of the clothes and put them in the drawer”. Dad didn’t know what he meant. He tells dad again “mom needs help, can’t you see? She’s dropping clothes and needs help getting them into the drawer”. So dad walks over and stands there while I’m juggling a pile of clothing and trying to open the drawer.

Dad says “what? Mom’s got it, she’s fine”.

My son says “no dad, you have to take some of the clothes from her so she doesn’t drop them all. Geez dad can’t you see she needs help?”

PIVOTAL!

That my Aspie son recognized someone needed help and he described HOW to help. Normally, I could be juggling three shopping bags, a purse and trying to open the door with my keys and they would both just stand there. Only my girl would think to say “mom can I carry something for you?”

So for my son to recognize something like this is huge. It’s progress. Now if we could just get dad to be a bit more observant…lol

Leave a Reply

