Sensory slips away? (Updated)

I got his occupational therapy report today and I was very surprised by the results.

dose globules de 1 gramme

homeopathic pellets (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The report stated that my son did not demonstrate sensory seeking behavior and appears to be functioning normally in the classroom without any sensory symptoms.

The only sensory area noted as different on testing is touch. And that was not consistent. There are times he reacts to other children touching him, and then times he shows no negative reaction. He does still appear distressed or distracted by noises in the classroom but is handing that appropriately.

Contrary to this report I do still see some sensory things at home, like the jumping, using a heavy blanket as a means to unwind after school but overall this is an improvement. He still reacts if you touch his shoulders. Sometimes he lets me touch his hair now.  I do think his sensory symptoms have improved at home and school.  They are not gone though. He does still have some visual processing, visual motor delays, but I’m sure if school had checked it 2 years ago before a year of daily vision therapy, it would have been a lot worse!

Over all the report is good. His remedy has created irritability and problems with his sleep/wake schedule. Normally I address this with Calmes Forte but we cannot use any other remedies while the homeopath is treating him. Oddly after each dose he gets this small red patch of peeling skin under one eye. It goes away in a few days or with the application of Vitamin E. It stays gone, until another dose is given. It does not bother him in any way; it’s just an odd thing.  He also has a regression with yeast which he hasn’t had in a long time. He has had 4 doses of his remedy spread over 6 weeks. I’m not too sure with the aggravations though. We go back to the homeopath and see what is next. I am happy to see some progress definitely.

**Update: I wanted to update this thread because the report from school was inaccurate. We later learned a lot of things school told us were not reflective of the actual situations. They reported that my son did not show any signs of sensory issues in the classroom but this was later shown not to be true and was further evident by my son’s extreme meltdowns each day when he got home from school. He was being forced to use pencils and paper when these are two of his worst sensory tactile defensive things. He cannot stand the sound of pencils on paper and he cannot stand the feel of paper.  He definitely continued to react to his known sensory triggers in the home and when we went places with him, so it escapes me how he was not in sheer sensory hell being forced to endure this in school. I suspect he was because he later confided in me that he planned to escape from school and walk home. The homeopathy I refer to at this time was discontinued which I detailed in subsequent posts about homeopathy because it did not help, but only made things worse. Aug. 2014.

One thought on “Sensory slips away? (Updated)

  1. Pingback: Sensory Regression | The Edge of Autism

Leave a Reply

