A Normal Day

Today was a beautiful summer day. I have long dreamed of a day when my son and I could enjoy a day together without any of autism’s quirks getting in the way. No tantrums, no meltdowns, no sensory issues. You know. It’s the day all of us mom’s dream of.

Today on round 134 we had that day. The last 8 months have been particularly hard with some regression that took me a while to figure out. I finally nailed it down to zinc deficiency. With school finally out we are back to plugging away at weekly chelation rounds and what a huge difference this has made.

We began our morning with getting the laundry done, the dishwasher loaded and the small chores finished. I shipped some books and my son helped me. Normally he hates the paper and won’t touch wet dishes. Today he was happy, compliant and helpful. I kept thinking “who is this kid?” but I didn’t dare jinx it.

We had planned to go to a favorite kid zone my son loves but first we had to stop at the post office to ship those books. I expected the usual meltdown because the line was long. But instead, he expressed that it was long and suggested they needed to hire someone else to work there because one person wasn’t enough. But he waited. We turned in our packages, got our receipt and off we went.

We arrived at the kid zone and played some token games to win tickets. He then played in the ball factory for a while running around with other kids and throwing balls. We decided to play some mini golf for a while. It was very busy so we did have to wait a while between each hole for the group in front of us. Normally this would be a disaster, but today he waited. He talked about not liking to wait, and how busy it was today. But he waited. He didn’t meltdown, he didn’t flip out.

We played two 18 hole mini golf courses happily. We laughed, we joked, we ran through the sprinkler they had running over one of the holes. My son was having a perfect day. I can’t even remember having such a nice time together and not having to deal with some behavioral issue of some kind. We spent most of the day there.

We went home after spending a few more hours playing games and running around in the ball factory.

I could not have asked for a better morning. We went home and relaxed for a while watching Fineas and Ferb on Netflix. Then it was time for dinner and to run some errands. We did not get the usual tantrum about going to the store.  We came home and went swimming. And he learned how to prank someone without going over board.

Generally if he wants to splash you in the pool or prank you, he goes over board and you end up with a face full of water. We showed him how to prank in a kind and humorous way such as a few accidental splashes on the shoulder.

After our swim we watched tv together and he let him sit with him and put my arm around him. Usually, he prefers not to be touched much but he wanted me to sit close to him and watch the show.

Bedtime came and it was a perfect day with my boy. One I won’t forget. One I know I owe to Andy Cutler and frequent low dose.

Leave a Reply

