Just Say No to the GMO

It seems that the things I run into get more and more ridiculous as time goes on. I do recall a brief rush of information that was quickly hushed in the 1990s about a concern over genetically modified foods.

Back then I was a young mother with a lot on her plate and this issue disappeared  very quickly from the media. Every once in a while another article or petition comes across my inbox about issues like this.

Lately my Facebook page had many posts about genetically modified foods and Monstanto Corn which perked my interest further. Why were so many people upset about corn? Surely there had to be a reason. I knew about the petitions to get genetically modified foods (GMO’s) labelled. I’ve always agreed that I want to know is in my food. I agree that if it’s in there, it should be on the label. And the only reason I can think of why a company would refuse to label their foods is because they are hiding something. They know that if the public knows about ingredient A or B, they won’t buy the product.

But then if it’s in the product and it would hurt sales that much if people knew, then it

doesn’t really belong in the food, does it? And why don’t they want us to know which products are genetically modified? It always peeks my curiosity to investigate questions like this.  When I started digging around and reading research articles I discovered that GMO corn actually produces pesticide (Round Up as most of us know it) and that’s in the corn. The corn also has to be sprayed with more pesticides than non-GMO corn.

And animals fed this corn get sick, grow tumors and die.  In a very short amount of time.

Ok, wow!

The cancer rates in this country are insane and no one has looked at GMO grain? Rats get breast cancer for eating this grain. Makes you wonder if this isn’t behind the exploding rate of breast cancer in women.

That’s pure insanity. What’s stupid is most food companies are using GMO corn, soy or cottonseed oil in your food and you don’t even know it. If it’s not organic or labelled “Non-GMO” it is very likely you are eating Round Up corn or one of these other GMO foods. There are a lot of scientific studies that have been done about the effects of this corn on animals, some even from prestigious universities like Duke. Yet the results are hushed. Monsanto tried to tell us that this new kind of food would solve world hunger by creating grains that were easier to grow and pest resistant.

That hasn’t happened. What has happened it that livestock fed GMO corn get sickly and die. So what does that mean for us?

Is there some reason humans think this won’t happen to us if we eat it? How have we become so arrogant to think we are above the ravages and damage that animals suffer? We are animals too. Just because we walk upright does not make us bullet proof to the damage of eating Round Up.

Some countries in Europe banned this stuff a decade ago. How? By simply refusing to buy any GMO products.  We could learn from Europe. Not to mention the cow’s will thank us if we get rid of GMO corn and soy.

I don’t know about you, but I think I’ll skip the pesticide with my dinner, thanks.

Genetic Roulette: The Gamble of our Lives

GMO study cancer tumors organ damage

Non GMO Food Project

Leave a Reply

