Homeopathy

Old homeopathic remedy, Hepar sulph.Homeopathy is something I receive frequent questions about.  I usually suggest parents do some research about it to understand what it is and how it’s supposed to work.

Its seems to be very useful in complicated condition that mainstream medicine offers little  for which is why parents choose to look at homeopathy for autism. It’s easy to administer, and it’s usually safe in most cases.

I have used homeopathy for various conditions and found it to be very helpful. Our first attempt at classical homeopathy for Autism wasn’t very successful but later research on my part chalks this up to the experience of the homeopath in selecting the proper remedy. Children with Autism are often harder to choose a remedy for because their condition masks their truth self. So for us the first homeopath we worked with went through 3 remedies that created aggravations and only short lived gains that left. This practitioner also prescribed one remedy that was actually isopathy not classical. We did end therapy with this particular clinician due to lack of progress and the misery these aggravations were causing.  We returned to chelation and my son regained any lost progress.

Classical homeopathy really does seem to help Autism in many ways and it seems to work much better after some chelation has been done. I am basing this on the many conversations I’ve had with other parents who had tried homeopathy early on and then again later when 100 rounds or more of chelation had been done. I think this is in part due to mercury/metal toxicity causing symptoms that cloud the child’s true functioning or personality. Mercury does seem to affect personality enough that it can make deciphering symptoms and behavior tricky for the homeopath. When some mercury is gone, children (adults too) seem to emerge from their mercury brain and you can see them more clearly for the remedy profile they are.

I have also read the works of Paul Herscu, and find his layers theory fascinating. And not just because it’s interesting but because it really seems to fit many children and what I’ve seen in their histories.

Such as birth trauma, illness, etc.

We have been working on those layers so that at some point my son’s true constitutional remedy will be evident. Ironically he presents like several remedies which is how you know he has a layer that needs to be addressed first. While I can’t relay all his information as well as he explains it, read his books!

I did research CEASE which is homotoxicolgy rather than classical homeopathy. CEASE uses remedies to detoxify vaccines and medications. I did speak with a practitioner that does this form of therapy but I was not able to make a solid conclusion. Her client base consisted of very few children (18) currently doing it which made it hard to gauge the success rate. It was also explained to me that regressions and illness would be expected when detoxifying with these remedies. In fact 18 months of ups and downs.

I wasn’t sure I wanted to relive my son’s DTaP vaccine regressions all over again. I had talked to other parents who were trying this and their children were experience illness, fever, rashes etc., with the remedies. This didn’t seem like the right road for my particular child. I also could not locate one solid recovery case of someone that used CEASE. I had read reports of improvements and even saw a hair test for a child who was doing it. The test still met rules for mercury toxicity, but gains were being reported. So it doesn’t seem to address mercury poisoning, but perhaps its helpful for some children.

Over all, I did not find enough solid information to convince me to try this.  So we have continued chelation and used supplements if needed.

We have looked at Paul Herscu N.D’s work and begun a remedy to address the layers he talks about in his books. This has actually been very helpful with some residual symptoms.

So my summary on homeopathy:

Would I use homeopathy and not chelate at all?  No.

Would I do 80-100 rounds first? Yes.

Would I do CEASE? Not if my child were doing well with chelation and not unless I found more convincing evidence it would be worth it.

Would I chelate with homeopathy? No.

Some methods of homeopathy claim to remove mercury or heavy metals from the body. Just based on the feedback in the adult mercury community, people have tried this and subsequently reported getting sicker, including developing MS like symptoms. We also see this same thing reported in improper chelation using high infrequent dosing. This has led to the assumption that somehow chelating out mercury using homeopathy only actually makes things worse.

I am noting that while I have studied homeopathy by reading many books and listening to lectures on the subject, I have some experience using it, I am not a homeopath.

I’m just reporting what I’ve seen and experienced as a parent.

As I always say, “do your own research and choose what’s best for you”.

Homeopathy updated

One thought on “Homeopathy

  1. Pingback: Sensory slips away? | The Edge of Autism

Leave a Reply

