Learning more about MTHFR

I actively continue to educate myself about things related to autism as more research comes out.  I am taking a webinar by Dr. Elizabeth Mumper about medical treatments in autism and after completing the first half, I do suspect my child probably has this.

While she has lots of great information about managing the many facets of health problems some of her methylation information was interesting. She has a list of symptoms that if a child/person has several of these, they should be tested for MTHFR. She was saying that you can get methylation problems at any age because they are triggered by the environment. This is what I suspected also based on experience with my own health.

Fine when I was younger, not fine now….somewhere in my teens I began exhibiting chronic fatigue and started testing iron and B12 anemic although then they just told you take the vitamins and eat meat. This was the age of optimal dental amalgam exposure and lots of antibiotics. Something there tipped my methylation system into the toilet.

Some of the symptoms she mentioned like motor function delays, clumsiness, regression, being weak after exercise, hypotonia were ones we were familiar with. Certainly that’s not a “definitive” but just some clues that she says warrant testing him.

My son had vision therapy in 2010-2011 but now several years later he complains of eye fatigue when reading. I took him back for an eye exam and the developmental optometrist  found he has eye motor weakness, again. So we are doing eye exercises but this made me wonder why did the muscle weakness come back? Well, because it’s a motor delay and maybe that’s related to methylation.

Something that comes up often, are parents asking me if they should treat MTHFR if their child has it.  I think it’s a part of the picture and it should be addressed to promote better health over all.  Treat it but don’t linger too long assuming it will fix everything because you still have to remove heavy metals, and work on the gut, immune function, pathogens…etc.

Part One: You have Mother what mutation?

Resources: MTHFR.net

Leave a Reply

