Chelating Grown Ups-ALA was my nemesis

In all the things that keep me busy I always try to find time to help those that contact me and recently I had the privilege to talk to Danny, author of the “The Mercury Diaries“. Some of you might remember my past post where I reviewed his book and found some more inspiration in his own recovery journey.

Something that isn’t talked about quite as much is that often times in autism, it isn’t just toxic children but toxic families. That means trying to repair mom or dad’s health as well as your child. It’s a struggle that some of us parents like myself have to balance because if we are not functioning well, how can we help our child?

I have struggled myself for 8 years to come back from mercury poisoning caused by amalgam fillings that were placed when I was a child. I have completed amazing feats for a woman who was also very sick. It was not and is not easy. I suffered a long list of debilitating symptoms including chronic fatigue which left me little energy to get by with.

I really had no choice but to try to do what I could to get my health on the right track. My son needed me. Both of my kids needed me. They needed me to do something about their mercury poisoning. I simply didn’t see an option other than to fight to survive so I could do what needed to be done.

My struggle to chelate and get that mercury out has been a very long and difficult process. Some people have an easier time and some like myself, it’s harder. It likely depends on how much mercury, how long exposed and what its done to your body.

I was exposed to a lot of amalgam and for most of my life. I had my amalgams out in 2006 which is also when I began chelating my children. I began shortly there after because the dump phase is no joke. I felt super fantastic after I had my amalgams out. I had so much energy and I slept so well. But that three-month point that Andy Cutler talks about in “Amalgam Illness: Diagnosis and Treatment“….he’s not kidding. I plummeted quickly and boy did I feel sick. I began DMSA at that point.

While DMSA certainly had its challenges for me, ALA was my nemesis. ALA was a struggle for me until very recently. I could not tolerate ALA until I had done 16 rounds of DMSA only. And then…only very low doses and not for very long. My children did not have this problem at all. It took me years to slowly raise my ALA dose but I had to take with DMSA or I was sick. I detailed my struggles with ALA to Danny who is also having issues with tolerating low amounts. Low Dose Chelation:Hope for Low Dose-ers!

My adrenal fatigue was also a huge factor in my problems with chelation. A few times I tried to do weekly rounds and I crashed my adrenals. Then I had to spend several months rebulding them with hydrocortione or Isocort and a ton of adrenal cortex extract. I learned that for me…I had to take this slowly and follow my bodies cues. If my body said one round a month, than this was better than nothing. If it said 5mg of ALA…then 5mg it is. I didn’t push things unless I was doing very well and felt I could try.

It took me nearly 100 rounds to be able to take ALA by itself. In order to do this I must make sure I am taking adequate antioxidants like vitamin C and magnesium. The point though if that I can finally take 50mg of ALA. No DMSA. No headaches!

The Mercury Diaries by Daniel Forsyth

Fight Autism and Win: Biomedical Therapies That Actually Work!

2 thoughts on “Chelating Grown Ups-ALA was my nemesis

  1. Pingback: Round 171 update | The Edge of Autism

  2. Pingback: Chelating Adults- I’ve beaten ALA | The Edge of Autism

Leave a Reply

