Are we really allergic to gluten? The Caputo Flour experiment

I have come across more than one article of the gluten crisis we are facing today that  has given pause for thought. Most of my life I ate gluten containing foods, whole wheat flour and the like with absolutely no problems. Until about 8 years ago anyway….and that’s when things changed. I’m not certain exactly why but there are several theories.

I have read that it’s the hybridization of wheat. Today we only grown very specific hybrids of wheat that are higher in gluten. That we process the grain different from centuries ago. It’s been said that this lack of diversity has left us with a much higher gluten containing wheat than our ancestors ate. So some theorizes that this is the problem.

I have also read that it’s the Round Up (glyphosate) we are spraying on the wheat before harvest. There is debate as to if this practice is actually done in the U.S. I have been unable to verify for sure other than to say I’ve read it’s a practice that’s been recommended by the makers of Round Up.

I’ve also read that some antibiotics cause gluten intolerance by damaging the gut wall and causing leaky gut.

All of these seems plausible to me and would explain why the number of people who suddenly get sick eating gluten is rising in triple fold.

My symptoms when consuming something with gluten in it are:

  • nausea
  • headache
  • brain fog
  • stomach cramps
  • bloating/gas/gut pain
  • followed by large red welts that are acne like on my skin. These appear within days of eating it.

I can tell within about 20 minutes of a meal or eating gluten contaminated food if I have been contaminated because I feel nauseous and then I start to feel like someone poisoned me. Foggy, sedated, and sick.

I keep coming across articles and reports of people who can eat wheat when they visit Europe or Italy.  I’ve seen others where people report eating pizza at a specific few restaurants that only use an heirloom wheat in their dough.

After avoiding gluten strictly for 6 years this peaks my interest.

What do you mean they can eat the loaves of bread in Europe but not here? These are super reactive people too. Something isn’t adding up.

So I set out on an experiment thinking that maybe if nothing else my son could eat this type of wheat flour at home, and if I were lucky, maybe I could. I ordered some caputo flour which is the heirloom wheat flour referred to in many of these articles.  It’s grown, harvested and ground in Italy.  It is 12% gluten which appears to be on par with the soft and hard wheat grown in the U.S.  It’s not expensive either and certainly a ton cheaper than the gluten-free flours I purchase now.

I made a large cheese pizza with the dough I made from the flour. I ate several pieces.

I felt a bit off, like a tiny bit of brain fog and some bloating. Nothing near like what I’ve had in the past eating wheat produced in the U.S.  I don’t know what to make of it.

I wait.  My brain feels strange but not as bad as it normally would.  I definitely don’t feel as terrible as I do with regular wheat products. Several hours later I report my heart is pounding. Like I’ve been running or perhaps had too much coffee. I’ve read this is a symptom of a food allergy.

Likely that means I am truly intolerant to wheat, even heirloom wheat.  I suspect leaky gut in my case based on the brain symptoms so soon after eating anything with gluten in it. The same thing happens if I eat organic tofu, except the urge to vomit is much worse than it is with gluten. So no soy either.

I can’t say for sure that heirloom wheat is the answer to the gluten crisis, certainly it isn’t going to solve my issue but it has been reported to help some people.

My next investigation will be with soaked grains instead. It’s going to take me some time to gain the courage to try sourdough heirloom wheat bread though.  Perhaps a sourdough might be more easily digested and might not cause the symptoms for me.

Maybe I just seriously need the GAPS diet, who knows!

I wouldn’t recommend anyone with celiac’s or a true allergy to wheat try this experiment. As an adult I made the choice to gamble and see what happened. I certainly would not try it on a child that had improved from the gluten-free diet.  My son is not reactive to wheat in any way we can tell. He’s never show any symptoms from eating it.  We took him off gluten to see if anything changed and so far we can’t prove that it has. Even his subsequent trials of gluten have not produced any symptoms either way. This pizza did not cause him any ails at all, not even gas.

What I have concluded is that there is something different about the U.S wheat. It definitely makes me a lot sicker than heirloom wheat but I still have a wheat problem either way.

Our gluten experiences:

Articles of interest:

One thought on “Are we really allergic to gluten? The Caputo Flour experiment

  1. Pingback: Sensory Conclusion | The Edge of Autism

Leave a Reply

