Urine Amino Acids Test

While my blog is about the edge of autism, the reality is that as parents we too have health problems from toxic exposure or other things. As I mentioned in a previous post we are a MTHFR family. I can safely assume that at least one of my two children, maybe both have at least one copy of C677T. I already have confirmed I have it and it seems to be affecting my health based on how I feel lately and my lab work. Certainly it isn’t for lack of healthy diet, detoxification, cleansing and addressing viruses and bacteria. I’ve done a lot of things to help regain my health already.

I wanted to share and talk about methylation issues and what I learned from my urine acid test from Doctors Data.

My tests revealed that the following amino acids are very low:

  • methionine
  • isoleucine
  • taurine
  • arginine
  • histidine
  • tyrosine

The following vitamins and minerals are low:

  • magnesium
  • B6 as P5P
  • trace minerals: manganese, molybdenum, zinc
  • MB12/folate
  • iron
  • ferritin
  • dhea
  • vitamin D
  • salt

My testing verified that I do have malabsorption and poor digestion. This has left me with a lot of deficiencies. Most of the categories on this test were very low. My urea cycle is not working well likely due to mineral deficiency. My magnesium markers indicated a severe need for magnesium. My methylation cycle is not working properly. My CBS is dys-regulated. My detoxification is very poor also…the list goes on.

Hmm..that might explain why I feel so fantastic….(yes I’m being sarcastic because I have been struggling all year with the return of fatigue and hair loss)

The doctor prescribed a plan of treatment for me that will take 3-6 months. The concept is that amino acid therapy will jump-start the gut and make methylation work better. I will also have to take a bunch of vitamins with my amino cocktail.

The plan is:

  • B6 as P5P twice a day
  • increased my MB12 from 5,000mcg a day to 20,000mcg
  • multi-mineral supplement for trace minerals
  • amino acids: trytophan, arginine, histidine, isoleucine, leucine, lysine, methione, phenylalanine, theronine, valine, P5P, Alpha-ketoglutarate, taurine. (doses were given based on my lab testing)
  • Zinc at 50mg a day
  • Vitamin D
  • Betaine HCL with pepsin with meals
  • glutamine daily

In three months we re-test urine amino acids and a bunch of blood work to check:

  • ammonia
  • vitamin A
  • porphyrins ( I will be curious to see what this show after 114 rounds of chelation)
  • GGT
  • thyroid panel
  • RBC magnesium
  • Homocysteine
  • Vitamin D

I did not expect my labs to be so bad but I knew something wasn’t right based on how I feel lately. Plus the gut is part of my ongoing thyroid problem and at 3 grains a day of thyroid meds, I urged my doc to look at my gut function. And well, there you have it….it isn’t working!

Part of the reason I felt it was important to post about this is because as an adult who was mercury poisoned, carries MTHFR, and had a child on the spectrum, this sort of condition is common in autism too. Many of our children suffer malabsorption, have poor digestion and are very deficient in a lot of vitamins, minerals and amino acids. This would slow down or disrupt their methylation too.  Methylation problems cause various side effects that we don’t have to live with if we have the proper testing and supplements to alleviate it.

I have done the chelation and still continue until I’m certain mercury is no longer on my list of problems, but there are many facets to reclaiming your health after being poisoned.

This also helps me be proactive in preventing my children from the same fate. They will know what to avoid in their environments and what supplements to take to help their bodies run well.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress!

 

Leave a Reply

