Good things do happen…..

Since this road is so long and often seems to be never-ending I thought I’d post some of the good things that have been happening recently in hopes it will inspire those feeling discouraged.  We recently returned from a trip to visit some immediate family that see’s my son a few times a year.  It has been a year since we have traveled to see them and in the past travel was often filled with frustration, sensory overload and meltdowns over situations which required flexibility. I am sure most of you know exactly what I’m talking about.

If we got lost or had trouble finding a place to use the restroom, or if plans changed as they often do from moment to moment on a trip, we could always expect him to be upset.

Not this year.

This time there was no evidence of an ASD child on a trip. He did not complain about the length of the car ride but was happy to amused himself looking out the window or listening to music. He was not bothered by the sleeping arrangements, the disruption in schedule or the change in food.  Everything was totally out of the normal schedule for him and he didn’t mind at all.

The proof in the pudding was the comment “Wow, he isn’t getting upset by that stuff anymore. He’s so different from last time you came to visit.”.

When we got home, he had a doctor’s appointment with a doctor that has not seen him in a little over two years.  Halfway through this visit she turns to me mid conversation with my son and says “Wow, I don’t see any of the autism symptoms anymore, he’s so much better than last time I saw him”.   And I responded with “yes, I agree. I don’t see it either” She smiled and said “this is wonderful he’s doing so well”.

I hope she puts that in the report from our visit!

Nothing more confirmatory than a doctor reporting that they don’t see the autism symptoms you’re son had 2 years ago.

Leave a Reply

