We’re still going…chelation update

We have had an incredibly busy summer, so much so that our last round was in July.  I know, not exactly my plan….but really there was just too much going on. Every time I’d plan to do a round there would be appointments, or some thing in the way. Some of the time my own health got in the way. I’ve seen my ferritin tank again and with some recent family changes, my adrenals. I’m a lot more tired than usual but slowly working my way back.

However, like mercury always does, it has reminded me it’s time to get back to chelating. We had a brief bout with yeast for my son out of no where. I chalked that up to dietary boo-boo’s with goodies at the drive-in or other such summer time sugar fun. That was quickly remedied with a few days of probiotics and grapefruit seed extract. My clue that yeast was back was that his attitude became “all vinegar” as we say. He was just so disagreeable most of the time but a day or two on GSE he was back on track. I am learning that we are not the only ones that have seen yeast reappear this far into chelation.  Thankfully it’s very easy to correct at this point.

We did have a family wedding in August and it was probably a mistake to have missed his round that month because unfortunately he didn’t really do as well as he normally would have with a function like that because of some sensory flare ups. He did ok overall but he did need to take a few sensory breaks throughout the long day.

I cannot figure out what has caused the sensory flare ups since he is still gluten-free. We are missing something I’m sure but I don’t know what.

I have learned over the years though that when it seems like your child is just backsliding in some areas or you were on track and now you’re off…..and you haven’t been doing rounds…..it’s time to chelate!!

So here we are at round 182 (my boy) and round 122 (me). He did not report any symptoms on his round of 50mg of ALA. This time he did sleep through his night doses thankfully. He did seem in a slightly better mood and also tired, but with the low iron I can’t say the fatigue is actually from the round. He has this off rounds too.

For my own round, I used 200mg of ALA. The first day I did notice prickly itchy skin, which is a symptom I’ve experienced in the past from low thyroid hormones. It was gone by the second day. I’ve also had some bad dreams and did not sleep well which is rough when you are already getting up every few hours.  In the past I have had vivid dreams so it is not uncommon for it to affect dreaming. I did see a bit of adrenal stress but only on day one later in the day. Increasing my vitamin C helped. Post round I am tired and find myself a bit emotional, which is also normal. Since my past year or so of rounds have been symptom free, this 2 month break followed by a round that produced slight symptoms is confirmation of mercury.

Course at only 122 rounds I sort of expected that. So onward we go with more rounds already penciled on the calendar.

**Please note the doses I refer too are not starting doses. We have worked up to these slowly as tolerated over years of chelating on the frequent dose protocol. You can learn more about this protocol in my book: Fight Autism and Win

 

Leave a Reply

