OT Appointment follow-up

We have our follow-up with the occupational therapist and I found the appointment very informative but it was honestly a lot of information to cram into 30 minutes. I felt like I understood everything until I got home and felt really overwhelmed by it. I kept trying to go over what she showed me in my head to recall everything we are supposed to do and I’m not sure I got it really.

So I went through all the handouts I got and then headed to YouTube to look for videos to help refresh me on the techniques I was shown.  The OT decided not to do Wilbarger on him but rather a combination of sensory diet, joint compressions and what are called “squishes”.  “Squishes” involve the application of deep pressure to the muscles in the arms and legs using my hands. This seems to be achieve the same thing as brushing but because he’s so defensive she felt it would be less invasive than brushing.

The primary issues now are implementing this rigid protocol every 2 hours at home with cooperation from a teen. Oh, and also fitting real life in there some where. I do think this is much easier if you have a toddler. We homeschool so that needs to be done daily also.

 

Leave a Reply

